Outstanding high school students honored

by | Mar 4, 2003 | In the News | 0 comments


Seventy local high school students recently received honors at an Indiana University Northwest awards ceremony for their participation in the Student of the Week program, sponsored by Indiana University Northwest, The Times and local high schools in Lake, Porter and LaPorte counties.

Student of the Week spotlights eleventh-grade students demonstrating leadership skills through academic accomplishments, extracurricular activities and community service.

On May 29, IUN Chancellor Bruce W. Bergland and The Times Student of the Week Project Coordinator George Carl awarded students with a medal and a certificate of achievement at the event.

“I am very proud to cosponsor an activity that recognizes high school students for their outstanding academic achievements and leadership skills, said Chancellor Bruce W. Bergland. “I am particularly pleased to know that the Student of the Week participants are performing service to the region by being involved in extracurricular activities and community projects.”

The 2002 Student of the Week honorary recipients include:

Andrean High School

Benjamin Blair

Lindsey Staniszeski

Bishop Noll Institute

Adam Knoerzer

Leslie Wolfe

Boone Grove High School

Brenna Beck

Marcus Bunning

Lauren Galloway

Calumet High School

Dennis Frazee

Elizabeth Ward

Chesterton High School

Abel Jesus Castaneda

Jenny Starcevich

Crown Point High School

Sean Cash

Sarah Pasyk

East Chicago High School

Cynthia Ramirez

Marino Solorio

Edison Junior/Senior High

Tommy Kingery

Angela Littell

Emerson V.P.A.

Desmond Jennings

Melanie Walker

Gavit Junior/Senior High

Kathryn Evans

Phil McLaughlin

George Rogers Clark High

Diana DelRio

Samuel Elizalde

Griffith High School

Rachel A. Grimmer

Charley Hancock

Hammond High School

Andrew Heuss

Kari Schmidt

Hanover Central High School

Cathy Homolka

Adam Miller

Hebron High School

Brian Neuffer

Kathryn Swiatkowski

Highland High School

Kyle Hawkins

Laura Timko

Hobart High School

Stephanie A. Poegel

Vinnie Rinas

Kouts High School

Molly Drazer

Andrew Selman

Lake Central High School

Anne Klingeberger

Mike Mannion

Lew Wallace Senior High School

Jermel Golston

Debra Witherspoon

Lowell High School

Lynette Kregel

Matthew A. Roberts

Marquette High School

Sarah Carr

William Kelly

Merrillville High School

Damara Rochelle Hamlin

David Rooda

Michigan City High School

Sara Shreve

Cory Szybala

Morton High School

Jennifer Barta

Michael Kalwat

Munster High School

Lauren Hamblin

Joey Manderino

Portage High School

Patricia DeBord

Andrew Warren

River Forest High School

Kristina Komenich

Robert Ordway

Roosevelt High School

LaKisha Perry

Carl Weatherspoon, Jr.

Valparaiso High School

Carl Gioia

Allison Knauff

Washington Township High

Stephen Lawson

Kevin Pazour

Westville High School

Christopher Burdine

Natasha Frontcakas

Whiting High School

Lauren Curosh

Gregory Koval

William A. Wirt High School

Martekka Crawford

Drew H. Smith, II

Michelle M. Searer

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This